UNE VIE SANS HISTOIRE / SOMEWHERE OUT OF A MEMORY
2012 - 2013
These works were created for "Québec Décapé", a project curated by l'Espace F (Matane, Québec).

I discovered the Quartier Dix30 and the surrounding real estate developments in the course of a video shoot in Brossard in 2008. It was late November and it was bone-chillingly cold; the barren vistas I was taking in seemed all the more forbidding. I took pictures of these ephemeral landscapes, knowing they would disappear within a few months. These worksites and wastelands are ambiguous: they still show us what was there before, while giving us a sense of what is coming. This in-between state has always interested me, as it bears witness to the upheavals that habitats are undergoing. The mutation of these periurban territories is irrevocably transforming the dynamics of our communities.

I have been there a few times between 2008 and 2013 to document their metamorphoses. On the Chemin des Prairies, farmland is giving way to a field of dwellings. 32,000 hectares of farmland have thus disappeared in the outskirts of Montreal to make way for real estate developments. What is now growing on this fertile soil is luxury houses, so-called "prestige houses” that are often termed “Monster homes”, “McMansions” or ”Starter castle”. You will find there projects such as “Parisian Village” and “Gates of London”; their streets bear names such as “Limoges”, “Liverpool”, “Lausanne”, “Lugano”... One is entitled to wonder what they have to do with local culture (or what is left of it). Between 2008 and 2011,fifteen heritage houses have been demolished; only Monsieur Brossard’s house has been spared amidst this waste. Oddly contrasting with its surroundings, it forms an enclave amidst a series of identical condos. The residents’ peaceful life is also a thing of the past, since the arrival of the vast DIX30 commercial megacomplex has significantly increased car traffic. More recently, new problems have arisen: heat islands, street gangs...

I can still see myself in 2008, filming through the window of the self-consciously “cool” ALT Hotel at dusk. These places look like so many others... I feel a little as if I am in a suburb of Denver or Omaha, in Lorraine or in Repentigny... Inevitably, I come across this territory from “nowhere and everywhere”... And yet, there exists another America, and it is still possible.

UNE VIE SANS HISTOIRE
2012 - 2013
Ces oeuvres ont été réalisées dans le cadre du projet « Québec Décapé » de l'Espace F (Matane, Québec).

Je découvre Le Quartier Dix30 et les développements immobiliers qui l'entourent lors d'un tournage vidéo à Brossard en 2008. C'est la fin novembre et il fait un froid glacial; les panoramas désolés que je contemple semblent d'autant plus inhospitaliers. Je les capte, sachant que ces paysages éphémères disparaîtront d'ici quelques mois. Ces chantiers et ces friches sont ambigus: ils nous montrent encore ce qui était là avant, tout en augurant de ce qui viendra. Cet entre-deux m'intéresse depuis toujours, car il témoigne des bouleversements qui affectent les habitats. La mutation de ces territoires périurbains transforme irrémédiablement la dynamique de nos milieux de vie.

De 2008 à 2013, j'y retourne quelques fois pour documenter leurs métamorphoses. Chemin des Prairies, les terres agricoles laissent la place à un champ d'habitations. En périphérie de Montréal, 32 000 hectares de terres agricoles sont ainsi disparus au profit des développements immobiliers. Sur ces sols fertiles poussent aujourd'hui des maisons luxueuses, dites « de prestige » et que l'on qualifie souvent de « Monster homes », « McMansions » ou de « Starter castle ». On y retrouve les projets Village parisien et Portes de Londres; leurs rues sont affublées de noms comme « Limoges », « Liverpool », « Lausanne », « Lugano »... On peut se demander quel rapport cela peut avoir avec la culture locale (enfin, ce qui en reste). Entre 2003 et 2011, quinze maisons patrimoniales ont été démolies. De cet héritage dilapidé, seule la maison de Monsieur Brossard subsiste. Contrastant curieusement avec son entourage, elle est enclavée au milieu d’une série d'immeubles à condos identiques. La vie paisible des habitants du coin est, elle aussi, chose du passé, l'arrivée du vaste méga complexe commercial DIX30 ayant augmenté la circulation automobile de façon significative. Plus récemment, de nouveaux problèmes font leur apparition: îlots de chaleur, gangs de rue...

Je me revois en 2008, à la brunante, filmant par la fenêtre du cool ALT Hôtel. Ces lieux ressemblent à tant d'autres... Je me sens un peu en banlieue de Denver, d'Omaha, à Lorraine ou Repentigny... Inévitablement, je croise ce territoire de « nulle part et partout »... Pourtant une autre Amérique existe et elle est encore possible.