A body of work of 70 images (selected)

This inquiry has its point of departure in a personal experience. For over twenty years, I have lived by the shores of a river that has become very polluted. I have long been observing the transformations of this stream, the changes in its ecosystems as well as the disappearance of some of the animal species that used to live in it. I wished to create a body of work that would bear witness to these man-made upheavals. Ecological disasters such as the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico or the garbage slates forming on the oceans are becoming more frequent. Massive urbanization and industrialization have resulted in impoverished bio-diversity; they also bring risks for human health. The declining state of bodies of water certainly counts among the most worrisome environmental issues.

During a stay in southern Florida in 2008, I made some exploratory shots with a small submersible camera. Leaving crystal-clear waters to vacationers, I preferred to capture the turbid waters of navigation canals. Since then, I have acquired a watertight tank that allows me to photograph underwater environments of all kinds. I dive into troubled waters of dubious, uncertain origin. Underwater worlds are fascinating and spellbinding; seductive images of tropical seas readily come to mind. What I seek to show is something altogether different, as my work plays on the sense of wonder usually associated with underwater shooting. 

The aquatic landscapes I probe have been considerably altered. They are sometimes actual deserts where nothing is left to see. The images I capture bear witness to this absence. I have observed dying ecosystems near New Jersey’s Chemical Coast and the marine cemetery of Rossville (Staten Island), where the shortage of dissolved oxygen is making life precarious. These desolate expanses are sometimes suffused in a wavering light endowing them with a strange, disturbing beauty. I photograph them from an unfamiliar vantage point, eschewing capture from shoulder height. These views from the inside create a relation of closeness between the onlooker and the site being documented. They take us closer to these environments by plunging us in their midst, as it were.

UNDERWORLDS
en continu
Cette recherche trouve son origine dans une expérience personnelle. Pendant plus de vingt ans, j'ai habité près des berges d'une rivière devenue polluée. J'ai longuement observé les transformations de ce cours d'eau, les mutations de ses écosystèmes, ainsi que la disparition de certaines des espèces animales qu'elle hébergeait. Je souhaitais créer un corpus qui témoignerait de ces bouleversements d'origine anthropique. De nos jours, des désastres écologiques comme le déversement pétrolier du Golfe du Mexique, ou ces plaques de déchets qui se forment sur les océans, deviennent de plus en plus fréquents. L'urbanisation et l'industrialisation massives entraînent un appauvrissement de la biodiversité; elles présentent aussi des risques pour la santé humaine. La dégradation des plans d'eau est certainement parmi les questions environnementales les plus préoccupantes. 

Lors d’un séjour dans le sud de la Floride en 2008, j'ai réalisé quelques prises de vues exploratoires avec une petite caméra submersible. Laissant les flots cristallins aux vacanciers, j'ai préféré capter les eaux turbides des canaux de navigation. Depuis ce temps, j'ai fait l'acquisition d'un caisson étanche qui me permet de photographier des environnements immergés de tous genres. Je le plonge dans des milieux troubles, des eaux douteuses aux origines incertaines. Nous avons tous en tête ces séduisantes images des mers tropicales: les mondes aquatiques sont fascinants et envoûtants. Ce que je cherche à montrer est bien différent, puisque mon travail se joue précisément de l'émerveillement habituellement associé à l'imagerie aquatique.

Les paysages aquatiques que je sonde ont été fortement altérés. Ce sont parfois de véritables déserts qui n'offrent plus rien à voir. Les images que je capte témoignent de cette absence. J'ai observé des écosystèmes moribonds près de la Chemical Coast du New Jersey et du cimetière marin de Rossville (Staten Island), où la carence en oxygène dissous rend la vie précaire. Ces étendues désolées sont souvent baignées d'une lumière vacillante qui leur confère une beauté étrange et troublante. Je les photographie à partir d'une perspective qui nous est peu familière, en évitant la captation à hauteur d'homme. Ces vues « de l'intérieur » créent un rapport de proximité entre le regardeur et les sites documentés. Elles nous rapprochent de ces milieux en nous plongeant, en quelque sorte, dans leurs situations.