LE CAMP DE LA RIVIÈRE
2017 - 2018
This project focuses on the Camp de la Rivière (Camp by the River), a camp occupied by citizens which is located on a logging road leading to the Junex oil exploration site in the Gaspé area (Quebec, Canada). This independent movement for re-appropriating the territory began in 2017 to demand a halt to drilling. The camp remains in place in order to inform the population of the risks of oil and gas exploration and development.

In both Canada and the United States, legislation is supportive of extractivism and the industry is heavily subsidized by public funding, which leads some citizens to organize in order to condemn the situation and to put forward alternative views.

The Camp de la Rivière activists are water conservationists and whistleblowers who are fighting for a cleaner, healthier environment and a fairer society; they are filling the gap left by governments that have let us down.

This body of works is an acknowledgement of these citizens’ commitment, solidarity and selflessness.

LE CAMP DE LA RIVIÈRE
2017 - 2018
Le Camp de la Rivière est une occupation citoyenne installée sur un chemin forestier menant au site de la compagnie pétrolière Junex, près de la ville de Gaspé (Québec). Ce mouvement autonome de réappropriation du territoire a été initié en 2017 pour demander l’arrêt des travaux de forage et il est maintenu en place pour renseigner la population sur les risques de l’exploration et de l’exploitation gazière et pétrolière.

Au Canada comme aux États-Unis, les lois sont favorables à l’extractivisme et l’industrie est largement subventionnée à même les fonds publics, ce qui pousse certains citoyens à s’organiser pour dénoncer la situation et proposer des visions alternatives.

Les militants du Camp de la Rivière sont des protecteurs de l’eau et des lanceurs d’alertes qui se battent pour un environnement plus sain et une société plus équitable; ils prennent ainsi le relais de gouvernements qui nous laissent tomber.

Ce corpus photographique est une reconnaissance de cet engagement, de la solidarité et du don de soi.