biography / resume / list of artworks / catalogues / contact

 

Born in Montreal in 1969, Isabelle Hayeur lives and works in Quebec, Canada. She holds a Bachelor’s (1997) and a Master’s (2002) degrees in Fine Arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal. As an image-based artist, she is known for her photographs and her experimental videos. She has also realized several site-specific installations and public art commissions. Her work is situated within a critical approach to the environment, urban development and to social conditions. She is particularly interested in the feelings of alienation, uprooting and disenchantment.

Since the late 1990s, Isabelle Hayeur has been probing the territories she goes through to understand how our contemporary civilizations take over and fashion their environments. She has mostly documented altered landscapes, industrial areas, tourist sites, abandoned places, urban fringes and underprivileged regions. She is concerned about the evolution of places and communities in the neoliberal sociopolitical context we currently live in. Her artistic approach examines the relations between nature and culture in a world where their (false) opposition is a dominant ideology that still structures our Western societies. When the utility principle comes to prevail over all other values and the economy becomes sovereign, everything gets viewed as a "resource" to strip or a site to occupy. Her works seek to show how we take possession of territories and beings so as to adapt them to our needs; this instrumental logic tends to invade all fields of human activity today. Her art practice proves to be both political and poetic, with a constant striving to blur the lines in order to highlight the ambivalence of our relation to the world. At once seductive and disquieting, her images awaken in us an ambiguous feeling that reflects our discomfort and reveals the flaws of a dehumanized system.

Isabelle Hayeur's works have been widely shown. She participated in many major public shows, such as the Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa), the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Arts (North Adams), the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (Berlin), the Canadian Cultural Centre (Paris), Casino Luxembourg Forum d'art contemporain (Luxembourg), the Today Art Museum (Beijing), at the Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art (Hiroshima) and at Les Rencontres internationales de la photographie à Arles.

Isabelle has also actively participated in international artists' residencies, notably at the Rauschenberg Residency (Florida), the International Studio & Curatorial Program ISCP (New York), A Studio in the Woods / Tulane University (New Orleans) and at the Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts (Omaha), amongst others. Her works are to be found in some thirty collections, including those of the National Gallery of Canada, the Fonds national d'art contemporain in Paris, the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Vancouver Art Gallery, the Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, the New Orleans Museum of Art and the Museum of Contemporary Photography in Chicago.

biographie / curriculum vitae / liste des oeuvres / catalogues / contact

 

Née en 1969 à Montréal, Isabelle Hayeur vit et travaille au Québec. Elle détient un baccalauréat (1997) et une maîtrise (2002) en arts plastiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Artiste de l'image, elle est connue pour ses photographies et ses vidéos expérimentales. Elle a aussi réalisé plusieurs installations in situ ainsi que des commandes publiques. Son approche s’inscrit dans la perspective d'une critique environnementale, urbanistique et sociale. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement aux sentiments d'aliénation, de déracinement et de désenchantement.

Depuis la fin des années 1990, Isabelle Hayeur sonde les territoires qu'elle parcourt pour comprendre comment nos civilisations contemporaines investissent et façonnent leurs environnements. Elle a surtout documenté des paysages altérés, des zones industrielles, des sites touristiques, des endroits abandonnés, des banlieues et des régions défavorisées. Elle est préoccupée par le devenir des lieux et des communautés dans le contexte sociopolitique néolibéral que nous connaissons actuellement. Son approche artistique examine les relations entre nature et culture dans un monde où leur (fausse) opposition constitue une idéologie dominante qui structure encore nos sociétés occidentales. Lorsque le principe d’utilité prime sur toutes les autres valeurs et que l’économie devient souveraine, tout est envisagé comme « ressource » à dépouiller ou comme site à occuper. Ses œuvres cherchent à montrer comment nous prenons possession des territoires et des êtres pour les adapter à nos besoins; cette logique instrumentale tend à envahir tous les champs de l’activité humaine aujourd'hui. Sa pratique artistique s’avère à la fois politique et poétique, et dénote un constant souci de brouiller les pistes afin de mettre en relief l’ambivalence de notre rapport au monde. Tout aussi séduisantes qu’inquiétantes, ses images éveillent en nous un sentiment ambigu qui reflète notre inconfort et révèle les failles d'un système déshumanisé.

Les œuvres d'Isabelle Hayeur ont été largement diffusées. Elle a participé à plusieurs présentations publiques importantes, entre autres au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, au Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Arts (North Adams), au Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (Berlin), au Centre culturel canadien (Paris), au Casino Luxembourg Forum d'art contemporain, au Tampa Museum of Art, au Today Art Museum (Beijing) et aux Rencontres internationales de la photographie à Arles.

Isabelle a fait plusieurs résidences d'artistes, dont la Rauschenberg Residency (Floride), le International Studio & Curatorial Program ISCP (New York), A Studio in the Woods / Tulane University (Nouvelle-Orléans) et le Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts (Omaha). Ses œuvres figurent dans une trentaine de collections, dont celles du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Fonds national d'art contemporain à Paris, de la Art Gallery of Ontario, de la Vancouver Art Gallery, du Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, du New Orleans Museum of Art et du Museum of Contemporary Photography de Chicago.